Staff Picks

Staff Review Jul 8, 2020

I say "graphic books" because not all are novels, and the ones I am most often drawn to are the graphic nonfiction--bios, memoirs, history lessons. I am not an expert on graphic books; I do not have boxes of comic collections accumulated since childhood (though I do fondly remember reading some of my older brother's X-Men comics as a kid--intrigued by smart, strong females like Storm, Jubilee, Rogue); but perhaps because I approach graphic books from a more literary view, I can translate their value to those who might otherwise relegate "comics" to their not-to-be-read shelf.

Staff Review
Cover of Simone St. James's The Broken Girls

The Broken Girls

By Simone St. James
4
Rated by Hebah A.H.
Jul 6, 2020

One of the best things about working in a library is the regular opportunity to talk about books (and other media) with people. Often, I can provide a recommendation for something else to read or try in those conversations, but it isn’t always a one-way street. Sometimes, patrons put books on my radar that I overlooked, either because the cover or description didn’t grab me, or it’s just outside my usual genre preferences. One of these books was Simone St. James’s The Broken Girls.

Staff Review Jul 2, 2020

British aristocracy has an interesting hold on many people around the world, the closer to the Royal Family and the more intense this interest and scrutiny becomes. 

Lady Glenconner served as a maid of honor at the Coronation of Elizabeth II in 1953, and was Extra Lady-in-waiting to Queen Elizabeth II's sister, Princess Margaret, Countess of Snowdon, from 1971 until the Princess died in 2002.

Staff Review
Undefeated cover

The Undefeated

By Una McCormack
4
Rated by Anne G
Jun 24, 2020

In The Undefeated we have a lovely novella with a leisurely pace by Una McCormack. This space opera is an introspective reminiscent view of a sixty-year-old's life. The novella blends science fiction life on other planets, colonialism's rise and fall, and an eerie near-apocalyptic setting.

Staff Review Jun 22, 2020

(I discuss the novel, but I have avoided spoilers as best as I can.)

Staff Review
Kanopy logo

Kanopy

By
5
Rated by Karyn H
Jun 18, 2020

Kanopy

Staff Review Jun 15, 2020

Hello and welcome to our look at some new releases in the fiction section at the Johnson County Library! Admittedly, it’s been a while. Normally every month we look at five titles making their debut on the library shelves that we think you absolutely need to know about. However, since the libraries were closed during the pandemic, we had put this list on hold since March, but since we reopened on June 15th, not only are the libraries back, but the list is back as well! Let’s start by catching up with the new releases in June.

Staff Review Jun 15, 2020

I agree with what everybody else is saying about Spider-man: Into the Spider-verse: the animation is outstanding. So is the story. It's fun, fresh, and emotionally rewarding. Miles Morales is a smart teen who grudgingly goes to an academically challenging, Brooklyn boarding school to please his tough cop, African-American father and his hospital administrator, Puerto-Rican mother.

Staff Review
Akata Witch

Akata Witch

By Nnedi Okorafor
5
Rated by Anne G
Jun 9, 2020

“Lesson one,” Anatov said. “And this is for all of you. Learn how to learn. Read between the lines. Know what to take and what to discard.”
― Nnedi Okorafor, Akata Witch

Staff Review Jun 4, 2020

Johnson County Library is pleased to announce that Virginia Brackett has won our poetry contest on the theme of Imagine Your Story with "Six".

Pages