Women's Fiction

book cover

The Time Between

Karen White
4
Rated by
Lisa J.
Monday, Apr 28, 2014

Growing up on one of the South Carolina outerbanks islands, Eleanor was a wild child who knew no fear and who loved to play the piano. Her sister was the beauty queen. Now in her 30's, Eleanor lives with her sister, brother-in-law and mother in a small house on the mainland. Eleanor works in an office and moonlights as a piano player in a bar to help make ends meet. When Eleanor is offered extra work by her boss to be a companion to his elderly aunt that lives on the island she grew up on Eleanor snaps up the opportunity not only to make more money but to get out of the house and away f

A pink flower with a short green stem. The petals and leaves are flyng away from the flower.

The Husband's Secret

Liane Moriarty
4
Rated by
Diane H.
Monday, Dec 23, 2013

In The Husband's Secret the lives of three Australian women are intertwined in ways they would never have thought possible. For years, the tragedy of a teenage daughter’s death has haunted one of the women and unknowingly affected another. The third woman, faced with a marital earthquake, takes her young son to her hometown of Sydney.

close up photo of white flowers

The Language of Flowers

Vanessa Diffenbaugh
4
Rated by
Helen H.
Thursday, Dec 19, 2013

Victoria Jones has just aged out of the foster care system, and her case worker is transporting her to a transitional home. In alternating chapters, the reader watches Victoria make her way in the world while learning about her past. Whether looking forward or back, her past, present, and future are riveting.

two people walking away on a beach with a tie-dyed blanket billowing behind them

Summerland

Elin Hilderbrand
4
Rated by
Helen H.
Thursday, Oct 17, 2013

In the vein of Laura Moriarity’s The Rest of Her Life or Chris Bojhalian’s The Buffalo Soldier, Hilderbrand puts normal, everyday people under a microscope after throwing a terrible tragedy at them.

Sunday, Sep 1, 2013

This short novel takes place over the course of one night and opens with a death. Nina is calling her husband, Phillip, for dinner and when he doesn’t answer, she immediately senses what has happened. She decides to keep his body overnight - to spend a final night with her husband of 42 years. She holds an all-night vigil by his side and reminisces about their life together. As she is trying to sort her emotions, the memories of their life together return

New Yorkers

The New Yorkers

Cathleen Schine
5
Rated by
Helen H.
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010

I recall, as a fairly sheltered college student, traveling to New York City for the wedding of a distant relative. It hadn’t occurred to me that there could be neighborhoods in this crowded place of constant motion. When I supposed that it must get lonely living where you would never serendipitously bump into someone you knew, a cousin tried to set me straight by explaining that people frequent the same places and thus you would often encounter the same people.

New Yorkers

The New Yorkers

Cathleen Schine
3
Rated by
Helen H.
Thursday, Jul 15, 2010

I recall, as a fairly sheltered college student, traveling to New York City for the wedding of a distant relative. It hadn’t occurred to me that there could be neighborhoods in this crowded place of constant motion. When I supposed that it must get lonely living where you would never serendipitously bump into someone you knew, a cousin tried to set me straight by explaining that people frequent the same places and thus you would often encounter the same people.

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008

Are you looking for a good read this holiday season? The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart is my new favorite. Frankie follows in her father's footsteps by attending the elite Alabaster boarding school. Her freshman year was relatively uneventful. With the help of her older sister she has managed to make a good group of friends that are slightly nerdy but still somewhat popular.

Pages