Book

Cover image of the book Toil & Trouble

Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women & Witchcraft

Jessica Spotswood and Tess Sharpe
5
Rated by
Hebah A.H.
Monday, Oct 14, 2019

It's that time of year where my reading generally turns to the spookier side, and there's no paranormal motif I love more than witchy women. Fiction has definitely seen an uptick in feminist reclamations of witchy tropes and depictions in recent years, and I am here for it.

A Hero Born by Jin Yong

A Hero Born

Jin Yong
5
Rated by
Andrew P
Friday, Oct 11, 2019

Touted as a Chinese Lord of the Rings, Jin Yong's A Hero Born, makes it's debut English translation. This story follows Guo Jing who was born during the Song empire. After his father, a Song Patriot, is murdered, he is taken up into the Mongolian steppes. There he is raised in Genghis Kahn's army before meeting The Seven Heroes of the South who tell him he is fated to fight in a competition to determine who is the greatest master.

Wednesday, Oct 9, 2019

“Every ten years or so, I either go back to therapy or I write a book in order to tell myself again, in a new way, my life story. This current version is death heavy, feminism heavy, whale heavy, but also multilayered, even multigenerational. I’m not only fifty-six but also seven, twelve, twenty-seven, thirty-four, and forty-eight. My story is like a choral piece with many different parts.

Yellow sky with purple mountains underneath and green grassy meadow in the foreground. Author's name is in purple letters and overlayed over yellow sky. Title of book is in white letters on top of the green meadow.

The Giver of Stars

Moyes, Jojo
5
Rated by
Lisa H
Monday, Oct 7, 2019

The Giver of Stars by Jojo Moyes is historical fiction at its very best! Set in 1939 Southern Kentucky, the lives of five strong female characters come together to form and operate the Packhorse Library, where they deliver by horseback, books, magazines and newspapers to those living in remote, rural areas.

Frankly in Love Cover

Frankly in Love

Yoon, David
4
Monday, Oct 7, 2019

Frank Li lives with his Korean-immigrant parents in California, growing up with American culture and feeling like his parents don't understand. As he starts to fall for Brit Means, a white girl his parents would never approve of him dating, Frank pretends to date Joy Song, a family friend who is in the same situation. But everything Frank knows about his life is much more complicated than it seems, especially high school dating.

I think the most compelling aspect of the book is that it's not just filled with love and romance, but navigating that romance for the first time. In most...

book cover

Let your Body Interpret your Dreams

Eugene Gendlin
4
Rated by
Michelle H.
Wednesday, Oct 2, 2019

Let Your Body Interpret Your Dreams isn’t going to help you interpret your dreams quickly, but it will help you interpret them correctly. Eugene Gendlin’s technique is simple. You’ve got to feel something rather than think it. And while Gendlin does recommend a popular technique – working with others to free associate meanings so as to stumble upon one that resonates—he’s clear about the limits of this technique. The intellect is a slow tool, and language can’t reliably access dream meaning.

The Last True Poets of the Sea cover

The Last True Poets of the Sea

Julia Drake
4
Tuesday, Oct 1, 2019

I think that the cover is beautiful. I like that the illustrations of the plants and things in the background give the cover the feel of the ocean since the book is called Last True Poets of the Sea. The most compelling aspect of this book was that the main character was hunting for a lost shipwreck that one of her ancestors survived. I thought that the plot of the story was really interesting. The only thing I was disappointed with in this book is that it seemed to take a while to get the story going, the beginning was a little slow. Nothing really happened during the first half but the...

Yellow background with title and author along with a large infinity symbol

Recursion

Blake Crouch
4
Rated by
Heather C
Monday, Sep 30, 2019

Recursion occurs when a thing is defined in terms of itself or of its type. --Wikipedia

I first heard about this book on NPR and was intrigued enough to immediately put it on my holds list. You can find out more about how to make your own holds list here. Let me just say that this book did not disappoint!

A boy, a goat and a chicken standing on a cliff before a Fairy tale tower

Kill the Farm Boy

Delilah S. Dawson
3
Rated by
Hilary S.
Friday, Sep 27, 2019

First, I must admit that I picked Kill the Farm Boy solely on its cover. I had no familiarity with either author before, nor had I read any reviews. I thought it looked like a fun and easy read, and that was exactly what I was in the mood for, so I tried it out. It is a lighthearted fantasy, packed in humor. But it's the type and quality of humor that makes this either a "love it" or "hate it" for many readers: poop jokes (lots of them), raunchy sex jokes and innuendo (lots of those, too).

Ask Again Yes book cover, view of a neighborhood and trees from high above

Ask Again, Yes

Mary Beth Keane
4
Rated by
Megan K.
Wednesday, Sep 25, 2019

Attempting to understand the human experience, and dealing with the aftermath of tragedy is something to which all people can relate. Mary Beth Keane’s novel Ask Again, Yes explores this phenomenon through the Gleeson and Stanhope families- neighbors in a suburb of New York City. The reader is introduced to the parents of both families at the beginning of the novel, and walks through life with their youngest children, Kate Gleeson and Peter Stanhope.

Pages