Arranged by Catherine McKenzie

0
Monday, Jun 17, 2013

I happened upon this author when she came out with Forgotten late last year, and I enjoyed it enough to want to read some of her others. Arranged is a story about Anne Blythe, a writer who starts to question whether she’ll ever get married after the combination of ending a disastrous long-term relationship and her best friend getting engaged to a great guy. Love doesn’t seem possible until she finds a business card for what she thinks is a matchmaking service, appropriately called Blythe & Co. Thinking it’s a sign, she makes an appointment, where she finds out it’s actually a very discrete arranged marriage service. Despite her misgivings, she agrees to start the process to become matched. When everything seems to fall into place, including the money to pay for the services from a book advance, she decides to go ahead with marrying Jack, the guy she gets matched with. Everything goes surprisingly well, until Anne discovers that Jack has a secret that turns her world upside down. Fans of Jennifer Crusie and Sophie Kinsella would enjoy this book, although keep in mind that McKenzie’s characters are anything but predictable.

Colleen O.

Written by Colleen O.

Fun fact: I used to Irish dance as a kid.