Staff Picks

Staff Review Jan 29, 2010

I've always enjoyed J.D. Salinger's only novel, The Catcher in the Rye; I've read it enough times now that I've lost count. Given the author's death on Jan. 27, I'll probably read it again soon. But it is not my favorite Salinger work. That honor goes to Franny and Zooey, and I write this knowing quite well what a strange little book it is.

Staff Review Jan 29, 2010

Sirianni, Carmen and Lewis A. Friedland. The Civic Renewal Movement: Community Building and Democracy in the United States. Kettering, 2005.

Staff Review Jan 29, 2010

This biography is an up-close-and-personal view of mental illness as a father watches his teenage daughter develop psychotic manic-depressive disorder. It is a quick read, like reading a very long newspaper article. It is difficult, too, because you want a happy ending but know from the beginning that there is no way to cure the disease.

Staff Review Jan 28, 2010

The story takes place in Berlin in 1945 when an accomplished, well educated and sophisticated journalist and editor found herself trapped in the Russian occupied sector for a period of eight weeks during the end of World War II. She kept a record of the events of her life and also daily events of the people in her apartment.

Staff Review Jan 28, 2010

Darkly Dreaming Dexter is the first of a series by Jeffry Lindsay. Dexter Morgan is not your average serial killer. His foster father Harry was in the police force, and recognized Dexter's dark side from an early age. Harry taught Dexter to live by a code that would keep his inner monster hidden from others, only turning it loose for the good of humankind.

Staff Review Jan 26, 2010

I never stay up until 12 or 1 a.m. reading, but I couldn't put this book down. Set in the mid sixties during the Civil Rights struggle, the story centers on a group of black maids and their white employers in Jackson, Mississippi. In her search for a job as a writer, recent college graduate Eugenia 'Skeeter' Phelan is told by an editor at Harper & Row in New York City that she needs to write about something that she's passionate about.

Staff Review Jan 26, 2010

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger is my all-time favorite book. I appreciate Holden Caulfield’s wit, sarcasm, charm and ability to exaggerate the facts. To my parent’s dismay, I was once a teenager like Holden and possessed many, if not all, of his aforementioned qualities.

Staff Review Jan 26, 2010

I read this book twice. Once in my native language Czech to keep up with the contemporary Czech authors and also my native language, and the second time in English to compare the precision and style of the translation. The book is a literary debut by this young Czech author. When this book was first published it became the most read book of the year in the Czech Republic and won several European awards.

Pages