Staff Picks

Staff Review Feb 3, 2010

Picture the Old West. Not some sanitized, idealized version, but a dirty, gritty Old West with massacres in the name of expansion, hookers with hearts-of-lead, and gunmen versus lawmen where both are merciless killers.

Now, picture this in an alternate universe where the theocratic settlers are armed with magic and have systematically conquered the entire world.

Got all that? Okay. Now… picture a romance tossed into this mix.

Still with me?

Staff Review Feb 2, 2010

Lights on a Ground of Darkness: An Evocation of a Place and Time originally was published in 2005 by the University of Nebraska Press. That handsome little hardcover, though, was a limited edition; one thousand copies were printed, each of them numbered and signed by the author. Last September, under its Bison Books imprint, the press re-released the book in a mass-market paperback edition -- and Publishers Weekly promptly named it one of the top 20 books published last fall by independent and university presses. The praise is deserved.

Staff Review Feb 2, 2010

The couple who brought the sick, abandoned kitten to the vet were of the opinion that he should be put to sleep. But the vet felt otherwise and restored him to perfect health, with the exception of his sight. She then set about finding him a loving, permanent home. That home was found in Gwen Cooper.

Staff Review Feb 2, 2010

C.S. Lewis move over! Here comes Denise Jackson. Reminiscent of the Oxford doyen's Surprised by Joy, Jackson's faith biography comes to us in the tenor of a Southern blonde belle. Her unabashed naked soul shakes the reader to the core. As a graying librarian I've learned to listen carefully to my patrons. One day a mousey female in her late 20's approached saying, "I want the book, It's All About Him.

Staff Review Feb 2, 2010

There were three reasons why I picked up Fancy White Trash. At first, the cover with a pink flamingo caught my attention and then I was intrigued by the title. When I found out that the book had been selected by the American Library Association's for their 2009 Best Books for Young Adults List and I made a decision to give it a try.

Staff Review Feb 2, 2010

When the Edgerton Book Ends (book group at Edgerton Neighborhood Library) asked for a classic and a mystery, the selection was clear – a mystery by Agatha Christie.

Staff Review Feb 1, 2010

Bentley Little is a Bram Stoker Award winner, the award given by the Horror Writer’s Association. The Walking is a prime example of Little’s work. I was hooked on this book from the first sentence in the Prologue which was, “John Hawkes died and kept walking.”The main character is Miles Huerdeen, a private investigator, who is drawn into “The Walking” when his father dies and starts walking.

Staff Review Feb 1, 2010

While I'm Falling by Laura Moriarty is an easy read with a local Kansas flavor, specifically featuring Lawrence. In this coming of age story, Moriarty in her typical fashion explores relationships and how a major event such as divorce in this case, affects the parents, the children and their future decisions about life.

Staff Review Feb 1, 2010

This is a book for anyone who reads mysteries and has wonder about the origin of a favorite fiction detective.  Mr.

Staff Review Jan 30, 2010

One of the best books I have read recently was The Post-Birthday World by Lionel Shriver. The story takes place in parallel universes which I found quite intriguing. The main character, Irina, works in London as an illustrator of children's books.

Pages