Staff Picks

Staff Review Dec 28, 2009

I don’t know how, but DiCamillo has done it again. In The Magician’s Elephant you will find a beautiful tale of “what if’s” and impossibilities.

Staff Review

Stitches

By David Small
5
Rated by Helen H.
Dec 27, 2009

When David was eleven, a family friend noticed a bump in his neck. Three and a half years later he would finally have the lump removed. Despite being told he was fine, two surgeries left David with only one vocal chord and a huge scar down his throat and neck. It wasn’t until later that David would learn he had had cancer and had not been expected to live. Small, a well-deserved award winning illustrator possesses an almost creepy ability to convey complex emotions through his drawings. The story itself is remarkable and the illustrations serve to heighten the impact.

Staff Review Dec 21, 2009

Oliver Watson is not your typical eighth grade student. He is actually a genius well on his way to world domination, and incidentally, unspeakably evil as well. Naturally, in order to protect himself, he must pretend to be a moron of vast proportions; and no one, neither his parents nor his classmates suspect a thing. Out of sheer spite for his father, Oliver decides to run for class president. In the end he discovers that the thing we loath the most in the world is the very thing that can bring us peace.

Teen Staff Review
Carter Finally Gets It by Brent Crawford

Carter Finally Gets It

By Brent Crawford
4
Rated by Kate M.
Dec 16, 2009

Carter is ready to start high school. His plans include hooking up with all the hot girls (and loosing his virginity ASAP), being the kicker on the football team, and becoming the most popular guy in school. And things seem to be going along as planned, he is the kicker for the freshman team, he hasn't been shoved in a locker yet, and he has hooked up with "chubby" Abbey who isn't so chubby anymore.

Staff Review Dec 15, 2009

Anyone who has read the original text of Fahrenheit 451 is familiar with the central themes of censorship, governmental manipulation, blind faith, and betrayal. Anyone who hasn’t and doesn’t have time can benefit by reading Hamilton’s adaptation.

Teen Staff Review
New Moon

New Moon Review

By Kristen Stewart
3
Rated by Kate M.
Dec 11, 2009

As promised here is my review for the New Moon movie (I know this is a little late, but I couldn't take the hoards to go opening weekend and then I just got caught up in other stuff). Those of you who know me know that I am not a big Twilight fan... Ok if we are being honest I can't stand the Twilight books. But I was honestly looking forward to the Twilight movie last year.

Staff Review Dec 10, 2009

Sleeping Murder is a true Agatha Christie classic and one of my favorite mysteries featuring Miss Jane Marple.

Staff Review Dec 8, 2009

Staff Review Dec 7, 2009

Starting at a young age, Jack Acheson observes first-hand the development of Kings County, a fictionalized Johnson County, KS. Jack’s father, Alton Acheson, capitalized on the plans to build I-35 by buying property along the future highway, mostly through manipulation and by unscrupulous means. His father’s involvement with the principle players in Kansas City’s history positions Jack firmly in a circle of friends with influential parents.

Teen Staff Review Dec 1, 2009

So I just got my new issue of Game Informer and in celebration of their 200th issue they have named the top 200 games of all time!  They took into account quality, cultural relevance and industry impact and here are just some of the surprising things I have noticed from their list.

Pages