Drive-thru item return at Blue Valley, Lenexa City Center, and Monticello Libraries begins May 18, and holds pickup at those three locations begins May 26. See more information and our FAQ »
x
Find online programs, email reference services, eBooks and eAudiobooks, streaming videos and more »
x

Want to publish your book review on our website? Join the YA Lit Council today to find out how!

Reviews

See what we are reading and find a recommendation, or check out our featured lists.
Staff Review
Justine Larbalestier
Reviewer's Rating: 
4
Wednesday, Mar 3, 2010

Micah live in New York City and attends a fancy private school, she is on scholarship. She lives with her parents in a small apartment and she doesn't seem to have a lot of friends. The drama starts when a boy from school, Zach is found murdered in Central Park. Micah, who narrates the story, says she barely knew Zach, just had a few classes with him but as the story goes on it is uncovered that Micah and Zach were actually secretly dating, secretly because Zach was actually dating another girl.

Staff Review
Swim the Fly by Don Calame
Don Calame
Reviewer's Rating: 
5
Friday, Feb 5, 2010

There is a trend online to find your favorite unsung books, books that you love but aren't widely read. The criteria that I am using is to look at my Goodreads account and any book that I have given 5 stars to that has been read by less than 500 people. Here is my list of unsung books!

Swim the Fly by Don Calame

Reviewer's Rating: 
0
Thursday, Dec 31, 2009

I am not a huge TV watcher but here are some shows I picked up in 2009.

10 Things I Hate About You

Staff Review
Carter Finally Gets It by Brent Crawford
Brent Crawford
Reviewer's Rating: 
4
Wednesday, Dec 16, 2009

Carter is ready to start high school. His plans include hooking up with all the hot girls (and loosing his virginity ASAP), being the kicker on the football team, and becoming the most popular guy in school. And things seem to be going along as planned, he is the kicker for the freshman team, he hasn't been shoved in a locker yet, and he has hooked up with "chubby" Abbey who isn't so chubby anymore.

Staff Review
New Moon
Kristen Stewart
Reviewer's Rating: 
3
Friday, Dec 11, 2009

As promised here is my review for the New Moon movie (I know this is a little late, but I couldn't take the hoards to go opening weekend and then I just got caught up in other stuff). Those of you who know me know that I am not a big Twilight fan... Ok if we are being honest I can't stand the Twilight books. But I was honestly looking forward to the Twilight movie last year.

Reviewer's Rating: 
0
Tuesday, Dec 1, 2009

So I just got my new issue of Game Informer and in celebration of their 200th issue they have named the top 200 games of all time!  They took into account quality, cultural relevance and industry impact and here are just some of the surprising things I have noticed from their list.

Staff Review
Tricks by Ellen Hopkins
Ellen Hopkins
Reviewer's Rating: 
4
Wednesday, Nov 4, 2009

Tricks by Ellen Hopkins is a novel told in verse follows 5 teens. Each one is trying to find love and each one ends up selling their body by the end of the book. Eden's father is an evangelical minister who cares deeply about setting a good example for his flock. So when Eden falls for Andrew, a non-believer, she knows she must keep it a secret or face her parents wrath. Seth lives with his father working on the family farm in rural Indiana.

Staff Review
Whip It
Ellen Page
Reviewer's Rating: 
3
Tuesday, Oct 6, 2009

If you know me you know that I am eternally the fan of the girl power book/movie. Being a tomboy growing up I am always a fan of girls who unabashedly kick butt. I had some pretty high hopes for Whip It! and I was so excited to see one of my favorite sports being featured in a movie with an all star cast! I excitedly went out and read the book Derby Girl by Shauna Cross (recently retitled Whip It, the inspiration for the movie) .

Staff Review
Fire by Kristin Cashore
Kristin Cashore
Reviewer's Rating: 
4
Monday, Sep 14, 2009

Over the mountains from the land of Graceling is the Dells, an equally enchanting land. Fire's life has been very sheltered, and for good reason, she is a monster. With a wild beauty and hair the color of flame, her namesake, Fire has the unique ability to control the minds of humans and animals. But Fire guards her power, afraid to misuse it like her father, Castrel, the monster adviser to the previous King who used his powers to almost destroy the kingdom.

Staff Review
Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fantasky
Wednesday, Sep 2, 2009

Jessica is looking forward to her senior year of high school in small town Pa. This is supposed to be the best year of her life, hang out with friends, get into a good college, and possibly get her first kiss. But everything goes horribly wrong on the first day of school when she is surprised by a creepy guy hanging out at the bus stop, crazy hippie parents won't give her a car. She swears she can hear him whisper her name before she gets on the bus, but it isn't the name Jessica, it is Antastasia, the name she was given as a baby by her birth parents.

Pages