Cedar Roe Library will be closed for new roof installation Oct. 27 - Dec. 29. Please visit another nearby location »
x

Want to publish your book review on our website? Join the YA Lit Council today to find out how!

Reviews

See what we are reading and find a recommendation, or check out our featured lists.
Staff Review
Romeo x Juliet
FUNimation Entertainment
Reviewer's Rating: 
4
Tuesday, Jul 28, 2009

For those of you who love ol' Billy Shakespeare but never could really get into the language check out the new anime Romeo X Juliet. A futuristic cross gender tale of undying love! Scene: Neo-Verona, sometime in the future Characters:

Staff Review
10 Things I Hate About You
ABC Family
Reviewer's Rating: 
5
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009

Ok. I admit it. I am addicted. I was pretty skeptical when ABC Family announced that they were going to make a TV show out of one of my favorite 90's movies. I was ready to hate it. I almost didn't watch the premier. But somehow I ended sitting in front of my TV at 7pm on July 7th tuning into ABC Family. And even more unbelievable is that I liked it!I was ready to hate all the characters. Who could play Kat better than Julia Stiles, who could be Patrick Verona except the talented Heath Ledger?

Staff Review
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen
Shia LaBeouf
Reviewer's Rating: 
5
Tuesday, Jun 30, 2009

I was one of those kids who grew up with Transformers so I must admit that there is a soft spot in my heart for any of the Tranformers movies. I was a little anxious to see the latest installment because I heard some pretty bad reviews from fans but I did go pay my $10 (dang movies are expensive) to check it out this weekend. And I am glad I didn't listen! I thought it was an awesome action movie and not too shabby of a plot! I am a big action freak so I love even the worst action flicks but this one just had so much more.

Staff Review
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Suzanne Collins
Reviewer's Rating: 
5
Tuesday, Jun 16, 2009

The Hunger Games is the story of North America after an apocalyptic war has broken out. Now the continent is made up of 12 districts, ruled over by a wealthy capitol city. Each year, to remind the districts of their loss in the war and how powerless they are, the Capitol chooses two teenagers from each district to participate in a reality TV show. The participants, called tributes are chosen at random from a lottery, one boy and one girl.

Staff Review
I Love You, Beth Cooper by Larry Doyle
Kate M.
Reviewer's Rating: 
4
Friday, May 15, 2009

One of my favorite books is being made into a movie, it is just one of those books that as you are reading you are selecting cast members in your head. I Love You, Beth Cooper is the story of one teen's experiences at the end of high school. Denis Cooverman has always been a geek. For as long as he can remember he has been the butt of every joke, getting swirlies in between classes and practical jokes played on him ever day.

Staff Review
Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
Melina Marchetta
Reviewer's Rating: 
4
Friday, Mar 27, 2009

Taylor was abandoned on the Jellicoe Road when she was 11 years old. She was taken in my Hannah, a caretaker at the Jellicoe School, a place for wards of the state to go to school until they are 18. Behind the seeming quiet of Jelliceo School is a feud that goes back before Taylors time there, a secret war going on between the students of Jellicoe School, the townies and the cadets. Taylor has just been named the leader of the students and it is hear job to regain precious territory from the cadets and townies.

Staff Review
Watchmen by Alan Moore
Alan Moore
Reviewer's Rating: 
4
Tuesday, Mar 3, 2009

What would the world be like if instead of superheroes being 2-dimensional characters in comic books they were real people? How would that change history? What if we had superheroes in WWII? What about Vietnam and Korea? Would we have won the wars? Watchmen is the answer to these questions. The streets of America's cities are protected by masked adventurers who fight (mostly) for truth and justice (or a modeling contract). Unlike the perfect superheroes of current lore these people are plagued by the depression brought on by experiencing the dark underbelly of society everyday.

Staff Review
Coraline by Neil Gaiman
Neil Gaiman
Reviewer's Rating: 
4
Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009

Coraline is already bored with her new apartment. She has explored every inch of the tiny space, until she discovers a door that wasn't there the first time she looked. The door leads Coraline to the Other World where she meets her Other Mother and Other Father, far more interesting versions of her parents with black buttons for eyes. Coraline spends the day exploring the Other World and when she is ready to leave her Other Mother offers to let Coraline stay in the Other World forever...if she sews buttons over her eyes.

Staff Review
The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008

Are you looking for a good read this holiday season? The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart is my new favorite. Frankie follows in her father's footsteps by attending the elite Alabaster boarding school. Her freshman year was relatively uneventful. With the help of her older sister she has managed to make a good group of friends that are slightly nerdy but still somewhat popular.

Staff Review
Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist
Wednesday, Nov 5, 2008

Fan's of Nick and Nora won't know what hit them when they watch the movie adaptation of this famous bookby David Levithan and Rachel Cohn. Now, although this movie does not follow the book (practically at all) it is still an excellent movie! I was a big fan of the book before I saw it and although a little piece of me was sad about how much they changed I can also respect that the movie is totally awesome on it's own! Even if you haven't read the book go check this out!

Pages