All 14 Johnson County Library locations are now open with modified hours» and limited services. See our FAQ »
x
Find online programs, email reference services, eBooks and eAudiobooks, streaming videos and more »
x

Want to publish your book review on our website? Join the YA Lit Council today to find out how!

Reviews

See what we are reading and find a recommendation, or check out our featured lists.
Staff Review
The Girl Who Leapt Through Time
Bandai Entertainment
Reviewer's Rating: 
4
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009

I have been watching quite a bit of anime lately to get ready for the anime festival coming up on November 7th (mark your calendars). There was one anime which I loved but just didn't seem to fit the festival, so you won't get to see it on the big screen but I would recommend checking it out from the library and watching it at home. Makoto is having a bad day. She woke up late, and just barely made it to school on time.

Staff Review
Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
Scott Westerfeld
Reviewer's Rating: 
4
Monday, Aug 17, 2009

Tally is painfully aware that she is hideously ugly. But she is about to turn the much anticipated 16, and where Tally lives your 16th birthday marks the day you get full body plastic surgery. This is surgery unheard of in modern science, it isn't just some botox and a face-lift. This alters you forever. The doctors can change you hair, eye and skin colors, your bone structure, your curves, your muscles, your teeth, and more. It is a full body overhaul. Tally is looking forward to her 16th birthday and imagining how pretty she will be once the surgery is over.

Staff Review
Pride & Prejudice & Zombies by Seth Grahame Smith
Seth Grahame Smith
Reviewer's Rating: 
4
Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009

The romantic classic with ultra violent zombie mayhem! Think, jaded boyfriend forced to read sappy, period love story by (now ex) girlfriend and wants to get back all all women for upholding unrealistic ideas romance, inspired by the original Pride and Prejudice.

Pride and Prejudice = Awesome. Zombies = Awesome. Pride and Prejudice + Zombies = Really Awesome.

Staff Review
Romeo x Juliet
FUNimation Entertainment
Reviewer's Rating: 
4
Tuesday, Jul 28, 2009

For those of you who love ol' Billy Shakespeare but never could really get into the language check out the new anime Romeo X Juliet. A futuristic cross gender tale of undying love! Scene: Neo-Verona, sometime in the future Characters:

Staff Review
10 Things I Hate About You
ABC Family
Reviewer's Rating: 
5
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009

Ok. I admit it. I am addicted. I was pretty skeptical when ABC Family announced that they were going to make a TV show out of one of my favorite 90's movies. I was ready to hate it. I almost didn't watch the premier. But somehow I ended sitting in front of my TV at 7pm on July 7th tuning into ABC Family. And even more unbelievable is that I liked it!I was ready to hate all the characters. Who could play Kat better than Julia Stiles, who could be Patrick Verona except the talented Heath Ledger?

Staff Review
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen
Shia LaBeouf
Reviewer's Rating: 
5
Tuesday, Jun 30, 2009

I was one of those kids who grew up with Transformers so I must admit that there is a soft spot in my heart for any of the Tranformers movies. I was a little anxious to see the latest installment because I heard some pretty bad reviews from fans but I did go pay my $10 (dang movies are expensive) to check it out this weekend. And I am glad I didn't listen! I thought it was an awesome action movie and not too shabby of a plot! I am a big action freak so I love even the worst action flicks but this one just had so much more.

Staff Review
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Suzanne Collins
Reviewer's Rating: 
5
Tuesday, Jun 16, 2009

The Hunger Games is the story of North America after an apocalyptic war has broken out. Now the continent is made up of 12 districts, ruled over by a wealthy capitol city. Each year, to remind the districts of their loss in the war and how powerless they are, the Capitol chooses two teenagers from each district to participate in a reality TV show. The participants, called tributes are chosen at random from a lottery, one boy and one girl.

Staff Review
I Love You, Beth Cooper by Larry Doyle
Kate M.
Reviewer's Rating: 
4
Friday, May 15, 2009

One of my favorite books is being made into a movie, it is just one of those books that as you are reading you are selecting cast members in your head. I Love You, Beth Cooper is the story of one teen's experiences at the end of high school. Denis Cooverman has always been a geek. For as long as he can remember he has been the butt of every joke, getting swirlies in between classes and practical jokes played on him ever day.

Staff Review
Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
Melina Marchetta
Reviewer's Rating: 
4
Friday, Mar 27, 2009

Taylor was abandoned on the Jellicoe Road when she was 11 years old. She was taken in my Hannah, a caretaker at the Jellicoe School, a place for wards of the state to go to school until they are 18. Behind the seeming quiet of Jelliceo School is a feud that goes back before Taylors time there, a secret war going on between the students of Jellicoe School, the townies and the cadets. Taylor has just been named the leader of the students and it is hear job to regain precious territory from the cadets and townies.

Staff Review
Watchmen by Alan Moore
Alan Moore
Reviewer's Rating: 
4
Tuesday, Mar 3, 2009

What would the world be like if instead of superheroes being 2-dimensional characters in comic books they were real people? How would that change history? What if we had superheroes in WWII? What about Vietnam and Korea? Would we have won the wars? Watchmen is the answer to these questions. The streets of America's cities are protected by masked adventurers who fight (mostly) for truth and justice (or a modeling contract). Unlike the perfect superheroes of current lore these people are plagued by the depression brought on by experiencing the dark underbelly of society everyday.

Pages